How do I do it?

bugaboo

I started my own business so that as a mother, I could be independent.  I had always liked the idea of owning my own business, but somehow becoming a parent made it more important, but of course as we know, being a parent brings a lot of challenges to any form of work, whether as a business owner or as an employee.

What has made it possible for me to do everything this year is the decision we made for my husband to be a stay at home Dad for a year or so, so that my job at Natural History can take priority over everything and I can give it my full attention.  The support of my husband and my father (who also lends a hand with childcare) has given me tremendous stability and confidence at work.

I know that I am incredibly lucky to have this sort of support, although it annoys me that it should be considered so unusual for a highly educated man to be a stay at home father, even temporarily, when I know that nobody would question it if I stayed at home while John worked.  Luckily, it’s not completely unheard of around here, and several of my husband’s friends are also stay at home Dads or part time PhD students/SAH Dads and can be spotted with their Bugaboos and Ergos in certain local hipster bicycle cafes!

Do you juggle small children and your own business?  How do you manage?

(Image above from Bugaboo)